Our Vision

Man in wheelchair smiling

Euro-ataxia is an international non-profit association whose member organisations work together to help people with progressive ataxia lead their best life. We do this by building a strong organisation that represents people with progressive ataxia throughout Europe.

Our Objectives

  • To drive forward research and treatment of the ataxias.
  • To encourage the free flow of information between members on the latest research.
  • To foster and improve contacts between practitioners interested in the ataxias, and people with ataxia.
  • To investigate social, political and cultural matters connected to the welfare of people with ataxia, and promote and improve the exchange of this information.
  • To promote co-operation on an international level between national ataxia organisations.
  • To raise awareness of ataxia among clinicians, scientists and society.

Our Constitution

Click here to view the Euro-ataxia Constitution.

Trustees of Euro-ataxia

President: Andreas Nadke (Deutsche Heredo Ataxie Gesellschaft)

Secretary: Sue Millman (Ataxia UK)

Treasurer: Susie Norbury (Ataxia-telangiectasia Society)

Board members:

Madeleine Schmeder (Association Française de l'Ataxie de Friedreich)

Juan Carlos Baiges (Fedaes)

Julie Greenfield (Ataxia UK)

Bart-Jan Schuman (Friedreich Ataxie Förderverein e.V.)

Jon Gerbild (Foreningen for ATAKSI HSP)

Vassilis Karatzias (Hellenic Friedreich's Ataxia Association)

Carlos Neves (Associação Portuguesa de Ataxias Hereditárias)

Tomer Hillel (Israel Machado Joseph Association)



Euro-ataxia Information Leaflet

View our website information in the format of a printer-friendly leaflet.